Version Workbench makes adding and removing versions, as well as checking them in and out, more user-friendly than working with OMW. These Project Maintenance tasks can be performed using the Check-Out, Check-In, Versions, or Owners row exits from the OMW Projects tab on the Version Workbench main screen.

Adding / Removing Versions

Choose the Versions row exit from the OMW Projects tab on the Version Workbench main screen to open the Add or Remove Versions screen. If you have your Default project selected, you will first see the Select Project screen, which also lets you create a new project using the New OMW Project form exit:

Create OMW project

Create OMW project

You can specify a project name or use Visual Assist in the Project Name field. After making a selection—or creating a new project using the New OMW Project form exit on this optional screen—you will enter the Add or Remove Versions screen when you click OK:

Add or remove versions

Add or remove versions

This screen displays all versions currently present in the project. Selecting grid records lets you remove the selected versions from the project using the Remove Selected form exit. Selected grid records are indicated by a green checkmark on the grid row header, as shown above. Use the Select button to select multiple grid records, double-click a grid record, or use the Select All form exit.

You can add versions to the project based on a grid QBE selection by clicking Add in the Add or Remove Versions screen. This opens the Add Versions to the Project screen:

Add versions to project

Add versions to project

Versions that are already included in the selected project will not be shown. Selecting grid records enables you to check out or add the selected versions to the project using the row exits Add Selected or Checkout Selected. Selected grid records are indicated by a green checkmark in the grid row header, as shown above. Use the Select button to select multiple grid records, double-click a grid record, or use the form exit Select All to make your selection.

Back in the Add or Remove Versions screen, there is a second way to add versions to the project: the form exit From Task view. This opens the Select Task view screen, where you can make a cross-environment selection of a task folder from which all version content will be added to the project:

Select the task view

Select the task view

Use the environment filter and browse the task view structure to select the desired task folder. Click the Select button to open a popup that confirms adding or checking out the versions found in the selected task view to the project:

Check out / Check in

The Check Out and Check In row exits on the OMW Projects tab of the Version Workbench main screen are enabled or disabled based on your selection in the project tree control.

The Check Out row exit is enabled when the selected project is in the development status specified for the login environment in the Development Configuration screen, and the project contains at least one batch version with a token available for checkout.

The Check In row exit is enabled when the selected project is in the development status specified for the login environment in the Development Configuration screen, and the project contains at least one batch version with a token checked out to the project on the current workstation.

The Check Out and Check In row exits are sensitive to the selection level in the project tree. When the project node is selected, all eligible versions in the project are checked out or checked in. When the version template is selected, all eligible versions in the project for the selected template are checked out or checked in. If a single version is selected, only that version is checked out or checked in.